What are the six season names?

What are the six season names?

The twelve months of the year are split into six seasons, each lasting two months. Vasant Ritu (Spring), Grishma Ritu (Summer), Varsha Ritu (Monsoon), Sharad Ritu (Autumn), Hemant Ritu (Pre-Winter), and Shishir Ritu are some of the seasons (Winter).

The word "season" comes from the Latin term saecula, which means "age". Thus, a season is any one of the successive periods of time or life spans of a country or community, corresponding to one of the ages or stages of human development or history.

Each season has a unique set of traits that define how people should act during that period. For example, the Spring season is known for its rebirth and new beginnings, so it is customary to clean out your house and make some room for all of the new things that will come in the Summer.

What are the seasons called in India?

North Indians traditionally observe six seasons, or "Ritus," each of which lasts roughly two months. Spring (Sanskrit: vasanta), summer (grisma), monsoon season (varsa), autumn (sarada), winter (hemanta), and prevernal season are the seasons (sisira). These are based on the astronomical split of a year into six months. The prevernal period starts when the nights start getting longer than the days and ends when the spring equinox occurs.

South Indians have only five seasons - spring, summer, monsoon, post-monsoon, and winter. They don't have a prevernal season like their northern counterparts do. Instead, they mark the end of the rainy season as the beginning of spring.

The word "season" applies to both South and North Indians because there is no real difference between them during any particular ritus. The only exception is that people wear clothes during spring and summer but not during the other months.

Clothing isn't mandatory during the other months either but most people still dress up accordingly. For example, women usually wear sarees during spring and autumn and leggings and shirts during summer.

Men usually wear shorts or pants during spring and autumn and jackets and ties during summer.

During monsoon season, it often rains for several weeks at a time so it's best to be prepared for such situations.

What are the six seasons in a year?

Here's a short rundown of all of the aforementioned Hindu calendar seasons:

  • Spring (Vasant Ritu)
  • Summer (Grishma Ritu)
  • Monsoon (Varsha Ritu)
  • Autumn (Sharad Ritu)
  • Pre-winter (Hemant Ritu)
  • Winter (Shishir or Shita Ritu)

What are the seasons in simple words?

A season is a period of time within a year. In many parts of the world, the year is divided into four seasons: spring, summer, autumn (British English) or fall (US English), and winter. There are two seasons in tropical and subtropical areas: the rainy (or wet, or monsoon) season and the dry season.

The word "season" comes from the Latin term saeta, meaning "wind". Wind blows across land and water, causing weather changes that we call seasons. Seasons affect what happens with plants and animals at global scales, but they also affect people's lives every day at local scales. For example, people in the northern hemisphere experience winter when there is much snow on the ground and cold temperatures occur during December, January, and February. Summer means long days without rain or wind, and it usually occurs during June, July, and August. Spring is the season when plants grow and animals breed; it usually starts around April and ends around October. Autumn is the opposite of spring; plants lose their leaves and animals migrate to warmer places during this season which usually runs from September to November.

At regional scales, seasons influence which plants live near the surface of the soil and which ones live deeper down. This is because plants need different things in order to grow successfully. For example, plants need sunlight during the day and darkness at night in order to make photosynthesis, the process by which plants create their food using carbon dioxide and water from the atmosphere and soil.

About Article Author

Deann Jackson

Deann Jackson is a seeker. She's not content in the status quo, but rather searches for deeper meaning and fulfillment. Deann has studied meditation, yoga, and mindfulness practices. Her passion is to help others find their own way on this journey of life through writing about spiritual topics.


SpiritualWander.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Related posts