What are the five kleshas in yoga?

What are the five kleshas in yoga?

Avidya (ignorance), asmita (selfishness), raga (attachment), dvesha (aversion), and abhinivesha are the five kleshas (fear). These are obstacles that keep us from reaching moksha (liberation).

They are: ignorance, attachment, aversion, doubt, and fear. These are the five main types of avidyas (deficiencies or obscurities).

Ignorance is not knowing what things are and not wanting to know. It is not having accurate knowledge of reality and taking that absence of knowledge as being true. This type of ignorance causes people to believe that some things are true when they are not, for example, "I don't know why some people are rich while others are poor," or "Why does my body need food? I'm not hungry." Ignorance also leads people to believe other things are false when they are not, such as "Women aren't capable of understanding science." Or "Space aliens will save us from our problems."

Attachment is feeling proud of and identifying with one's own thoughts and feelings, which creates an ego. An ego is a small self that thinks it is important and has value. It is unaware that everything it experiences is merely an idea in its mind and has no real existence apart from that mind.

What are the five elements of Pancha Bhutas in yoga?

Panchmahabhoota Elements

  • The 5 tanmatras are Sound (Shabda), Touch (Sparsha), Vision (Roopa), Taste (Rasa), Smell (Gandha).
  • Ether or Universal Space (Aakash) –
  • Air (Vayu) –
  • Divine Fire (Agni) –
  • Water (Jala) –
  • Earth (Pruthvi) –
  • These panchmahabhoota imbalance create “tridoshas”

What are the first five parts of yoga known as?

Yama, the first of the eight limbs, meaning "restraint." Ahimsa (nonviolence), satya (truthfulness), asteya (not stealing), brahmacharya (moderation), and aparigraha are the five Yamas (not hoarding).

These five restraints are essential to achieve yoga nirvana and abide by all beings. Breaking any of these rules leads to suffering, whereas obeying them brings freedom.

The next three divisions of yoga practice are: asana ("posture"), vedanā ("sense impression"), and pratipakṣa ("direct perception"). Asanas are simply physical positions that we take in order to relax our body and mind. Each asana has many names because it is important not to change anything about it. For example, one asana may be called Padma Sondhi. This means "lotus position" or "bow pose". Another asana might be called Simhasana ("rooster pose") because the back is like a rooster's tail when done correctly. Vedanā is an impression made on the mind due to some sensory experience. For example, hearing a sound will create a mental image in your mind. Pratipakṣa means "without error" or "valid knowledge", so this division of yoga practice involves learning new things through direct experience.

What is Asmita in yoga?

Asmita (ego) is the second branch of the klesa-s in yogic philosophy (causes of suffering). Thoughts like "I am superior than you," "I am correct," and "I know more than you" define Asmita's character. As humans, we are all vulnerable to asmita (ego). It may cause us to feel superior toward others or think that we know more than them about something that they are interested in. In other words, asmita can be defined as self-centeredness.

Asmita can also lead to arrogance. This can be seen in ancient texts where it is said that one who is arrogant toward others will be humiliated by them. Arrogance can also lead to hatred. If someone feels arrogant toward you then it can trigger them to hate you. They might even try to hurt you if they find an opportunity.

In modern terms, asmita can be described as self-centeredness. It is believing that you are important and other people should cater to your needs. This type of thinking leads to arrogance. Arrogance can lead to disrespecting others and trying to hurt them. This can be done physically, verbally, or emotionally. Emotionally, asmita can cause you to feel jealous of others' success and feelings. Spiritually, asmita can cause you to believe that you are too good for this world and should not be involved with people.

What does "five feathers" mean?

The number five also serves as a reminder of Patanjali's five yamas (observances) and niyamas (restraints) laid out in the yoga sutras; these are the ethical precepts or living principles of yoga that help us to live at peace with ourselves and others. The five feathers refer to the five elements of nature that make up everything that exists: earth, water, fire, air, and space. Each element has its own characteristics and qualities that make up what is known as the physical world.

The feather symbol has many interpretations depending on the school of thought within Hinduism. Some believe it to be a representation of one of the chakras (energy centers) while others see it as a visualization tool for meditation. It can also be a metaphor for freedom or even immortality.

Five feathers symbolizing the elements of nature come together to form a headdress, which indicates that these elements are united within each of us as well as around us. They cannot be separated from each other nor can they be used independently of each other; instead, they work together in perfect harmony.

Earth provides food for people and animals, water for drinking and agriculture, fire for heat, light, and cooking, and air for speech and movement. These are the basic needs of life, and without them there would be no way for humans to survive.

How many types of Maha yoga are there according to Hatha Ratnavali?

Instead of eight kumbhakas, the yogi has described nine different kinds of kumbhakas. These include:

Kumbhaka means retention or confinement. In order to achieve kumbhaka, one must first restrain all the activities of the mind and body. The ancient masters believed that without this restraint, it was impossible to gain mastery over the senses or reach enlightenment.

Kumbhaka is essential for achieving yoga postures because some poses require you to stay in a position for a long time. If you were to lose control of your breath when entering these positions, you could suffer injury. By retaining our breath, we are able to maintain these difficult bodies for longer. This is why it is important to learn how to retain our breath properly.

The most effective way of retaining our breath is by doing so intentionally. This can be done by breathing through the nose (pranayama) or the mouth (jalnetana). Some people also breathe using both the nose and the mouth at the same time (duo-nasal pranayama). All these methods help to keep our mind focused on our breath instead of being distracted by other thoughts.

What are the seven layers of yoga?

They are, in order of grossness to fineness:

  • Annamaya kosha, “food” sheath (Anna)
  • Pranamaya kosha, “energy” sheath (Prana)
  • Manomaya kosha “mind” sheath (Manas)
  • Vijñānamaya kosha, “discernment” or “Knowledge” sheath (Vigynana)
  • Anandamaya kosha, “bliss” sheath (Ananda)

About Article Author

Audra Jones

Audra Jones has been practicing yoga and spirituality for over 30 years. She has always had a deep interest in the healing practices of ancient cultures and how to apply them today. Audra is skilled at using her intuition and understanding of energy to create sacred spaces that promote healing. Her clients find solace in their sessions with her, as she helps them find peace within themselves through meditation techniques, calming imagery, aromatherapy, sound therapy, essential oils, etc.


SpiritualWander.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Related posts