What are the 13 zodiac signs?

What are the 13 zodiac signs?

The Sun's location as seen from the revolving Earth goes through the zodiac constellations: Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces. Thus the zodiac is a map of the constellations visible from Earth.

It is based on when each constellation entered our part of the solar system, which is called an astrological sign. The zodiac constellations were first listed by Ptolemy in the second century AD. He arranged them into twelve parts or houses, one for each zodiacal sign. The constellations have changed since then, but the idea of dividing up the sky into zones related to different stars has remained much the same.

There are other maps of the zodiac that differ slightly from one another. For example, some include the constellation Pisces instead of Aquarius. Others do not show signs with fewer than five planets in them. But most agree on how to divide up the zodiac into its parts: Aries, Ram, Bull, Monkey, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Sheep, Goat, Raven, and Pig.

Aries begins at the spring equinox and ends at the summer solstice. It is named after the ram who led the Israelites out of Egypt.

What are the birthday signs?

As a result, everyone has a corresponding zodiacal sign based on the time of year in which they were born. Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces are the 12 signs. People think that various sun signs of the zodiac represent distinct traits and abilities. In fact, it's more accurate to say that each sign represents a different point on a dimension of human behavior. The signs do not correspond to specific elements (earth, fire, air, water), nor do they relate to physical body parts (head, heart, hands, feet). Instead, they reflect the moods, behaviors, and tendencies of humans throughout history.

The signs as we know them now were developed about 500 B.C. by Greek astronomer Hippocrates of Chios. His goal was to classify humanity so that doctors could better understand disease. He divided people into four categories-ascetic, choleric, phlegmatic, and melancholic-and assigned each category to one sign of the zodiac. The idea behind this system is that someone who is ascetic (or olympian) does not get sick often; someone choleric (or ram) suffers from heatstroke; someone phlegmatic (or elephant) is calm and unemotional; and someone melancholic (or crab) experiences depression. Although these categories have been modified over time, they are still used today in medical practice to describe both healthy people and those with diseases.

Why do zodiac signs exist?

The signs are drawn from the constellations that outline the journey the sun seems to take over the course of a year. The sun appears to move against the background stars as the Earth orbits the sun (red line). The zodiac is defined by the constellations (green) through which the sun travels.

The sun, earth, and moon form a constant shape-called a "geometric figure". All geometric figures are equal in size when viewed from a distance. Thus, there must be something else about the zodiac that makes some parts larger than others when seen from space.

Astronomers believe the difference comes down to how far away each sign is from the center point where the sun is directly above the equator. Signs on the opposite sides of the zodiac have actually been shown to differ in size when measured from the center of the planet. One side is bigger because it includes the Sun as it passes over the center of Earth every day.

There are 12 signs of the zodiac including Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricornus, Aquarius, and Pisces.

The first four signs include the animals that represent them: Aries the ram, Taurus the bull, Gemini the twin, and Cancer the crab.

What are the four cardinal signs?

Aries, Cancer, Libra, and Capricorn are the first four signs of the Zodiac. They also represent the start of the season. All four cardinal signs may be considered as the "ideas" people of the zodiac. Aries is known for its temperamental nature and love of battle. Cancer is emotional and sensitive. Libra is diplomatic and graceful. Capricorn is practical and determined.

Aries: March 21-April 19. Fiery, warlike, and courageous, Aries is the first sign of the zodiac. It is also one of the most difficult signs to understand because it is ruled by an unyielding ruler, Mars. A person born under this sign is said to have a strong will and a mind of their own. They like to take charge and don't like being controlled by others.

Cancer: April 20-May 22. The second sign of the zodiac is Cancer. It is the sign of emotion and sensitivity. People born under this sign are usually very caring and loving, but can be spoiled by their overindulgence in these qualities. They are also known for their tenacity in life's battles. The planet Venus is associated with this sign too. Women bear children who are often sickly or disabled; men suffer from cancer. This is why many myths and legends are related to this sign, especially regarding its ruler, the Moon.

About Article Author

Paula Johnson

Paula Johnson is a master of the mind. She has studied how to control her dreams, meditate using astrology, and read horoscopes in order to shape her life into what she desires. Paula loves reading about all things metaphysical - from runes to tarot cards.


SpiritualWander.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Related posts