What are the 12 major Roman gods?

What are the 12 major Roman gods?

The 12 Roman Gods were Jupiter, Juno, Mars, Mercury, Neptune, Venus, Apollo, Diana, Minerva, Ceres, Vulcan, and Vesta. These are the main deities of ancient Rome. Although they had many priests and prophets, they were only believed to have one supreme god - Jupiter.

Rome was originally built as a temple city and the Romans worshipped many different gods from outside Italy. But once they became powerful, they only kept five main gods - Jupiter, Mars, Mercury, Venus, and Apollo - in addition to Lares and Penates (household gods). The presence of these 12 deities was necessary for someone who wanted to be sure of success in war or business. However there were also people who practiced irreligion or were simply ignorant of this list and therefore didn't require such elaborate safeguards.

The number 12 has great significance for those who believe in the divine power of numbers. It is said that God will never do anything to harm this number of people on earth at any given time. Since the Romans believed that everyone had a soul, this means that the number is related to the entire human race, not just one country or culture.

Another reason why 12 is special is because it is divisible by all numbers up to 11 without remainder.

Who are the 12 main gods?

Jupiter and Juno, Neptune and Minerva, Mars and Venus, Apollo and Diana, Vulcan and Vesta, Mercury and Ceres were the 12 gods. The Senate dubbed this group the Dei Consentes, or Council of Twelve. They were considered important allies by the Romans.

The Deities Consentes were included on Roman coins and in other forms of media to indicate their approval of these coins' values as well as the authority of those putting out the money.

Their inclusion on some coins was also meant to protect the people from buying bad money. If the coin had no image on it then it could be used by anyone, but if a god was included on the coin then only that person had the right to put a metal into circulation bearing his/her image.

The deities included on coins varied over time. Sometimes they were chosen by the Emperor himself, but more often than not they were selected by one of the many religious councils that ruled Rome during periods of turmoil and uncertainty. Some examples include: in 449 BC to choose a new King after the death of Brutus; in 395 BC to choose an Emperor after the fall of the Republic; and in 274 BC to decide what role the Greeks should have in the Empire.

Who are the gods of the Roman Empire?

The ancient Romans were religious people who worshiped a variety of gods. Janus, Jupiter, Quirinus, Mars, Juno, Liber, Ceres, Libera, Sol, Neptune, and Genius are just a few examples. It is thought that Rome had two sun gods: Sol Indiges and Sol Invictus. The former was worshipped in ancient times before the birth of Jesus Christ while the latter was adopted during the reign of Emperor Augustus. There are also reports that shows that Romulus and Remus were brought up by a wolf named Lupus.

The most important god for the early Romans was Jupiter, the king of the gods and the chief deity. He was called "Zeus" in Greek. According to their mythology, Rome was founded by twins Romulus and Remus who were raised by a she-wolf named Lupus. They invented many things including the calendar, the house, and even the wheel!

After the twins died, their brother, Titus Tatius, took over the city but he too was killed by King Attila the Hun. Next, the Romans elected a king known as the Pontifex Maximus. He was the highest priest in Ancient Rome. His role was very similar to that of the Pope today. After him, another noble named Gaius Marcius became the ruler of Rome. He too was murdered by the same king Attila the Hun.

What are the Roman equivalents of the Greek gods?

List of Greek Replicas of Roman Gods

  • Zeus= Jupiter.
  • Poseidon= Neptune.
  • Hades= Pluto.
  • Hera= Juno ( No children)
  • Demeter= Ceres.
  • Hestia= Vesta (No children)
  • Ares= Mars.
  • Aphrodite= Venus.

Who are the 5 Roman Gods?

These were the principal Roman gods who inspired the ancient Romans to conquer, achieve, and thrive.

  • Jupiter/ Zeus.
  • Juno/ Hera.
  • Neptune/ Poseidon.
  • Minerva/ Athena.
  • Mars/ Ares.
  • Venus/ Aphrodite.
  • Apollo / Apollo.
  • Diana/ Artemis.

How many planets in our solar system are named after Roman gods?

The names of most of the solar system's eight planets may be traced back to Roman mythology. The Romans named the five planets that could be seen with the naked eye in the night sky after gods and goddesses. These include Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, and Saturn.

Earth was not considered a planet at the time it was named by the Romans, but rather as a special body in orbit around the central star. However, as technology has improved we know now that Earth is a planet like any other. It just so happens that we live on its surface rather than within its atmosphere.

Of all the planets, only four were known to the ancients: Mercury, Venus, Mars, and Jupiter. Of these, only Mercury and Venus are still regarded as planets by science today. The other two have been removed from consideration due to being either too far away from the sun or having very short orbits, respectively.

The idea of other worlds beyond our own was not new when the Romans came up with their naming scheme. Indeed, it was one of the major discoveries of the ancient Greeks that led to the development of modern science. But despite this fact, none of the planets except Earth had been given a name until much later in history.

About Article Author

Angela Laing

Angela Laing is someone who has always been searching for the meaning of life. She found it in healing, spiritual development, meditation and yoga. Angela's specialty is helping others heal their mind-body connection to become more self-aware and self-actualized.


SpiritualWander.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Related posts