Are there 12 or 13 zodiac signs?

Are there 12 or 13 zodiac signs?

Following the discovery of a new constellation by NASA, a NASA blog article indicated that there are now 13 Zodiac signs, rather than 12—thus throwing the entire astrological chart out of whack. Ophiuchus is the 13th Zodiac sign, and it is the star sign for persons born between November 29 and December 17. The I-Ching also lists Ophiuchus as the 13th sign.

The original 12 constellations were designated by Ptolemy in the second century A.D. He assigned each constellation to one of Earth's twelve major geographical regions. However, over time these classifications became obsolete, and so in order to make future astrological charts more accurate, modern astronomers have had to revise them. The first set of changes was done in 1610 by Johannes Kepler who removed Hercules from its position at the top of the sky because it was too low down. The next significant change came in 1933 when American astronomer Edward Emerson Barnard introduced a new constellation, Ariadne, to replace Cupid which had fallen out of use. In fact, Barnard is given credit for having created a new constellation every year between 1933 and 1987 with the exception of 1974 when no new constellations were named due to an international moratorium on new constellation designations. This moratorium ended in 1975 when another new constellation, Centaurus, was added to the list.

What’s the 13th zodiac sign?

It all began with a resurrected narrative. NASA has "found" a 13th zodiac sign, Ophiuchus, also known as the serpent-bearer. Anyone born between November 29 and December 17 would be an Ophiuchus, neither a Scorpio or a Sagittarius. Instead, they are said to be "serpent-bearers," because this constellation is represented by a snake wrapped around a stick.

Ophiuchus was first described by Ptolemy in the second century A.D., who based it on observations made by Eratosthenes. Since then, it has been added to several major star atlases. In 1610, Johannes Kepler included it in his book Stellae Quaedam Novae, or New Stars. It wasn't until 1814 that Ophiuchus finally received its modern designation from William Herschel.

The story of Ophiuchus is much older than its identification as a new zodiac sign. Its origins can be traced back to ancient Egypt, where it was called the Serpent Bearer because this constellation was depicted as a snake wrapped around a pole (or stick). This narrative was revived during the Renaissance, when it was used by astronomers to describe one of the 12 constellations now known as the Zodiac.

What are the new zodiacs?

Stranger still, NASA has introduced a brand-new zodiac sign into the mix: Ophiuchus. Because the constellations vary in size and form, the Sun spends varying amounts of time aligned with each one, according to a spokeswoman. Thus, your zodiac sign has changed over time, based on when Earth was placed within Ophiuchus' orbit.

They've also added some new signs to the mix. Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, and Capricorn make up the current 12 zodiac signs. But Ophiuchus joins them as they change over time due to Earth's place within the constellation's orbit.

So if you want to know what sign you were born under, just look up Ophiuchus. According to NASA, this sky object was chosen because it is "courageous beyond belief: it even opposes its own family." Of all the stars in our galaxy, it is probably the one most distant from earth. Yet it plays a crucial role in understanding our universe because it can help us find other objects even though they are too far away from us otherwise.

The old zodiac signs were originally created around 300 B.C. by Greek astronomer Hippocrates of Chios.

What is the secret zodiac sign?

From November 29 to December 18, the constellation Ophiuchus, as defined by the International Astronomical Union's constellation limits of 1930, is located behind the sun. The concept appears to have begun in 1970, with Steven Schmidt's conception of a 14-sign zodiac that included Cetus as a sign. It has been popularized through books and web sites such as

The secret zodiac sign reveals itself when a person sees themselves represented by an animal in a dream. This means that even though they may not know it yet, they are associated with this creature. In order to understand what kind of message the dream is trying to tell them, they need to look at the characteristics of each sign along with how they relate to themselves.

For example, if a person dreams that they are a bear and that bears eat plants - this shows that they are related to the sign of Taurus. They would also eat when hungry which indicates a natural tendency toward stability and security. However, if the person dreamed that they were a bear and was afraid of them - this means that they have issues with trust and fear for their own safety. These are signs that they should work on changing through self-reflection and soul searching practices.

The mind is a powerful tool that can reveal hidden secrets about ourselves. Through dreaming we can get clues about our past and present that cannot be found any other way.

About Article Author

Ruth Stuer

Ruth Stuer is a self-proclaimed spiritual, astrological and mindful person. She has been practicing for over two decades and loves all things related to these subjects. Ruth loves helping people find their personal spirituality through tarot card readings, chakra balancing and other practices that she offers.

Disclaimer is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to

Related posts